Old 06-23-2007, 07:59 PM   #1
lastfreeman

Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default WTF is Chaos Computer Club

According to wikipedia: "The Chaos Computer Club (CCC) is one of the biggest and most influential hacker organisations."

Why the hell does it keep getting blocked on pg2?
IP is 217.13.206.147 port 6969. It wont leave me alone no matter what I d/l and its showing up about as much as safenet
lastfreeman is offline  

 
Old 06-23-2007, 08:08 PM   #2
fakhir
 
fakhir's Avatar

Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York
Country: United States
Posts: 4,392
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

i would do some virus, spyware, rootkit scans
information on port 6969 suggests that it is used for trojans and viruses
__________________


Email: fakhir@iblocklist.com
AIM: chrisfakhir
MSN: fakhir@gmail.com


"Any darn fool can make something complex; it takes a genius to make something simple."
-Albert Einstein

"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; the inherent virtue of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
-Winston Churchill

"You cannot bring about prosperity by discouraging thrift. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot help the wage earner by pulling down the wage payer. You cannot further the brotherhood of man encouraging class hatred. You cannot help the poor by destroying the rich. You cannot keep out of trouble by spending more than you earn. You cannot build character and courage by taking away man’s initiative and independence. You cannot help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves."
-Abraham Lincoln

fakhir is offline  

 
Old 06-24-2007, 09:40 PM   #3
lastfreeman

Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

Clean... and clean.. It only seems to be active whenever I torrent.
lastfreeman is offline  

 
Old 06-25-2007, 11:44 AM   #4
fox
 
fox's Avatar

Infringement Specialist
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: In your momma's house.
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,822
Send a message via ICQ to fox Send a message via AIM to fox Send a message via MSN to fox
Donor
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

my advise is to ignore it. sometimes the names are misleading. let it block, blocks are good.

here is my search results.

Search results for: 217.13.206.147


OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID: RIPE
Address: P.O. Box 10096
City: Amsterdam
StateProv:
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country: NL

ReferralServer: whois://whois.ripe.net:43

NetRange: 217.0.0.0 - 217.255.255.255
CIDR: 217.0.0.0/8
NetName: 217-RIPE
NetHandle: NET-217-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: Allocated to RIPE NCC
NameServer: NS-PRI.RIPE.NET
NameServer: NS3.NIC.FR
NameServer: SUNIC.SUNET.SE
NameServer: NS-EXT.ISC.ORG
NameServer: SEC1.APNIC.NET
NameServer: SEC3.APNIC.NET
NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
Comment: These addresses have been further assigned to users in
Comment: the RIPE NCC region. Contact information can be found in
Comment: the RIPE database at http://www.ripe.net/whois
RegDate: 2000-06-05
Updated: 2005-07-27


fox
fox is offline  

 
Old 06-25-2007, 08:46 PM   #5
shanu

Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Australia
Country: Australia
Posts: 345
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

I think that be the one to use for this IP, I get "Speedbone Internet & Connectivity GmbH" from Gemany, 217.13.206.0 - 217.13.206.255 when using it.
PG shows it blocked as same when I ping 217.13.206.147, I think it's something to do with merging of lists/ranges why it displays as another name in PG.
Quote:
It only seems to be active whenever I torrent.
If it's outgoing (you as the source) traffic blocked it's probably your torrent client trying to connect to someone from within that IP range, if it's incoming they are trying to connect to you.
Like Fox said, ignore it, it's blocked
shanu is offline  

 
Old 06-25-2007, 08:55 PM   #6
lastfreeman

Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

Ahh ok. Thank you fox, shanu, fakhir.
lastfreeman is offline  

 
Old 07-16-2007, 08:50 AM   #7
catgofire

Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

217.13.206.147 is an open tracker

$ dig denis.stalker.h3q.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> denis.stalker.h3q.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 7035
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;denis.stalker.h3q.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
denis.stalker.h3q.com. 28 IN A 217.13.206.147


Blog here:
http://opentracker.blog.h3q.com/


Probably shouldn't be on the block list. It's an open tracker who doesn't like anti-p2p people... so it's most likely safe to allow access to it. 6969 is just the announce port, not something for trojans/viruses. Your computer needs to access 217.13.206.147:6969 to find peers to connect to.
catgofire is offline  

 
Old 07-18-2007, 05:05 AM   #8
Pepsi_One
 
Pepsi_One's Avatar

Admin Retired/On Leave
Join Date: Jan 2004
Country: United States
Posts: 3,863
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

A member at Bluetack named badgerz has posted in the Invalid IP Section Forum there asking that Chaos Computer Club - 217.13.206.141-217.13.206.161 be unblocked.

I feel that it is appropriate to post the link to this thread so that our members are more aware of what CCC actually is. The following is monk's (Global Mod, IP Master at BT) answer to the request to have this tracker unblocked. I think his reply will clear up any confusion as to what Chaos Computer Club is/does and why it's in the P2P/Level1 list.

Use this information to decided whether or not you want to "allow" that range of IPs in your PG2.

http://www.bluetack.co.uk/forums/ind...=0&#entry82472

Quote:
Originally Posted by monk, Global Mod, IP Master at BT
That tracker is the primary reason for that range being on level 1 and it's not going to be unblocked. There were huge numbers of fakes on that tracker for over 6 months before that open tracker blog site first appeared. From what we've seen, the people involved with that tracker are working with MediaDefender - It is their fakes that have appeared consistently on that tracker.

Additionally, the Chaos Computer Club had a 2nd tracker putting out large numbers of fakes last year, bittorrent.dyndns.org. This tracker was actually in one of the ranges belonging to the CCC for a long time, then it moved to an Alice DSL range, but is not currently active.

And then there's this site that was found, belonging to a CCC member who is involved with the domain for that tracker, who links to the MPAA's website, along with other links to CCC things and a business he's involved with:

http://outpost.h3q.com/

And before any of this with the trackers last year, we blocked a CCC range for abusing the downloading of our lists. Many hundreds, if not thousands, of DLs a day were happening from an IP belonging to this group.

Then there's the consideration of what the CCC is:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chaos_Computer_Club

We are primarily concerned with P2P protection here, but we do block other things that are a threat to people, such as malware, viruses and hackers. The CCC certainly qualifies as the latter.

I'm sure the majority of the CCC members are good, decent people, like anyone else you would meet, but I am certain that there are people who are involved with this organization which are a threat to filesharers.
Pepsi_One is offline  

 
Old 08-14-2007, 03:37 PM   #9
Dewercs

Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 1
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

Additionally if any of you are running TOR (The Onion Router) you should know CCC runs at least 2 TOR servers. It will show up in your PG2 logs even if your not running anything through TOR, because it creates new nodes every so often that may include CCC's server(s).

-Dewercs

Last edited by Dewercs : 08-14-2007 at 03:57 PM.
Dewercs is offline  

 
Old 09-18-2007, 07:46 AM   #10
Andreas (CCC)

Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: WTF is Chaos Computer Club

Check the Bluetack URL again for our answer. Short version: the accusations that the CCC is anti-p2p and malicious is ridiculous, and we're highly offended by it. Plus, OpenTracker isn't even a CCC project or running from a CCC network.

See also http://opentracker.blog.h3q.com/?p=27 for the OpenTracker people's angle on it.

It's very sad to see that the blocklists are obviously run by a single individual with paranoid tendencies and no room for reason.
Andreas (CCC) is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Phoenix Labs Staff